Skip to content

Early Morning Gym Fail

August 31, 2011

There are two things that make going to the gym at 6:00 am easier, one is if your significant other has to be at work way earlier than you and is already getting up at the time and two is if you make a pack with your roommate to get up and go and she is yelling outside of your door for you to get up. Unfortunately for my gym plan, I did not hang out with the BF last night and my roommate is at home in LA for the week. Soooooo I did not make it to the gym this morning…Oops! My bed and pillow just seemed so much more welcoming at the time. When I woke up an hour and a half later, I did not regret that decision. Since I have worked out the past 4 days in a row, I will view today as a rest day and make it a point to get back to the gym tomorrow.

In more exciting news, I am going to dinner at Tackle Box tonight to use up a Groupon! I love going out to dinner knowing that it has already been paid for and that it is half off. Plus, I love Tackle Box! Have you been there? There aren’t many casual seafood restaurants around DC, but luckily I love this one so that is all I need. It is also great because you create your own meal, so you get exactly what you want and you can be as unhealthy healthy as you want to be. You can check out their menu here.

Group based deals are great because they can save lots of money, but they can also trick you into spending money that you probably wouldn’t normally spend. Every time I am tempted to buy a Groupon, Living Social, Capitol Deal, etc I go through a mental checklist to see if it really is a great deal for me.

  • Is it to a place I already go and enjoy? If so, I will probably buy it! a la Tackle Box!
  •  If it is a new to me place, is it in/near my neighborhood? For example, there was a great deal today for 50% off frozen yogurt. Now, I do love frozen yogurt, but the place was nowhere near my home or work. The transit costs for me to get there would offset the $$ I was saving, especially since frozen yogurt is not a wallet breaker to begin with. I decided not to buy this deal.
  • How much money will I have to spend on top of the initial purchase? This is especially true for fancy restaurants and salon services where the amount of the deal will not cover the entire bill, not to mention tipping on the full amount!
  • Is it for something fun that would lead to a fairly inexpensive social gathering?   I always buy movie ticket deals (tip: you can buy them even if they are technically for another city because you redeem online). My favorite Groupon purchase ever falls into this category! My friends and I recently got a deal for  Uncrok’d Art – one of those wine and painting classes. Seriously, one of the most fun things I have done in DC – highly recommended no matter where you live!

Recently, I have learned about Scoutmob and it has quickly become my new favorite deal site! With Scoutmob, you don’t pay for the deal, so if you sign up to receive it and then you don’t end up getting around to using it, you haven’t lost any money! The only catch is the deals are available for a shorter amount of time – some for a a month and some for just a week or two. Since signing up with Scoutmob, I have received a FREE falafel from Amsterdam Falafel, a FREE empanada from Julia’s Empanadas, and 50% coupons to several of my favorite restaurants, bars, and coffee shops. If Scoutmob is available in your city, I guarantee you will not be disappointed if you join!

Have you had any favorite deal purchases? Do you have any “go to” deals that you always purchase?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

