Skip to content

Ready for Book Club

September 23, 2011

First off, HAPPY FRIDAY! This was the first full 5 day week that I have worked in over a month (due to vacations, weddings, power outages, etc) and it was looooooong. I am so happy it’s the weekend. I am sure you are too!

In other news, I just finished reading my September book club book and I cannot wait for the meeting next Wednesday – I am so ready to talk about it with other people who have read the book. This month, we read Zeitoun by Dave Eggers.

I loved this book. It is not a happy book but it is a book that is extremely hard to put down and in my opinion those are the best kind. It is very sad, very eye opening, and even very disturbing at times. Zeitoun is about a very dark time in our country; it tells the true story of one man and his family and what their lives become in the days and years leading up to and after Hurricane Katrina. It is a must read for everyone living in our country today. This book goes where the news and reporters failed to go.

Have you read Zeitoun? What did you think?

Have you read any other great books that you would recommend for a Book Club? (We are always taking suggestions!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

