Skip to content

Hiking Old Rag Mountain (again!)

October 10, 2011

Yesterday, the BF and I hiked Old Rag Mountain in Shenandoah National Park! Hiking is one of my favorite fall activities!

  • It is great exercise! In fact, the Old Rag Mountain Hike website has a calorie counter on it so you can see how many calories you burned on the hike. You just enter your weight and it will calculate it for you.
  • You can see beautiful foliage!
  • I love being outside in cooler weather when I am not getting sweaty. The weather was perfect yesterday, not too cold and not too h0t.
  • It is free! (Mostly – I think you do have to pay a few dollars to hike Old Rag and some of the other trails in Shenandoah but luckily we were able to borrow a friends year long pass. There are plenty of free hikes in the DC metro area too. The Billy Goat Trail is one of my favorites!)

Old Rag is a pretty popular trail (though it is not an easy one), so it is not ideal if you want to be alone with nature. Even Tina Fey hiked it and recapped her experience in Bossypants (you can read the Old Rag segment here!).

This was our second time climbing Old Rag Mountain. The 1 mile rock scramble was just as challenging the second time around!

May 2011

October 2011

I know there are tons of great hikes in the area and I have only tackled a small portion of them  in the 2.5 years I have lived in DC. I can’t wait to get out and explore more.

Do you have any favorite hikes in the DC metro area?

Do you have any favorite fall activities?

I will leave you with more views from the top of Old Rag Mountain…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

