Skip to content

About

Welcome! My name is Lauren, I am 24 years old, and I live in our nation’s capital, Washington, D.C. I moved here two years ago, right out of college. Though it was not my first job in the District, I am currently working at a community music school right in the heart of the city. To supplement my entry level, non-profit salary, I also work part time at a hat shop! Two jobs keep me busy but I still strive to make time for social sports, a book club, keeping up with friends, enjoying D.C., and my dedication to working out and staying healthy. Oh, and did I mention that I am still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up at the same time!

DC Savvy is my attempt to document first, how I juggle all these different aspects of my life and second, how I do it all on my VERY tight budget (big city cost of living was, and is STILL, quite a shock to this southern girl!). Hopefully, I can prove t0 you and myself that it IS possible to live and have fun in a big city without having and spending tons of money. My goal at the end of every month is to put some amount of money into savings, but to know that I did not have to sacrifice social outings and good work/life balance to accomplish this. Of course this does not ALWAYS happen, but this is the hope.

I was born and raised in Greensboro, N.C. In fact, my parents have lived in the same house my entire life, which I don’t think is very common these days. I attended the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to study Performance Communications and Spanish. UNC is somewhat of a family school for me, so as they say “I’m a Tar Heel born, I’m a Tar Heel bred and when I die, I’ll be a Tar Heel dead.” (Go heels!)

I moved to Washington, D.C. the summer after graduation to work in a professional theater, because working in theater is always what I thought I wanted to do in my life. I soon learned this wasn’t the case! One of the positives of having a negative job experience, is figuring out what you DON’T want in a career. Almost exactly a year later, I found myself working in administration at the music school full time and at the hat shop on nights and weekends. I have decided that I want to keep the arts as a hobby for enjoyment but have a career in a different field, though what that field might be I am still trying to figure out!

In the meantime, between working two jobs and researching graduate school options, I am loving life in D.C. by playing social sports (kickball for a while, but now I am into bocce), running a book club, hanging out with friends (new and old), and enjoying all that this city has to offer.

Thanks for reading!

Advertisements
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: